There are 7 major chakra centers of the physical body, where vital energy flows and intersects. Through our chakras we transmit and receive physical, emotional, and spiritual energy. The state of the chakras are manifested in one’s physical state. The ideal is to have all chakra centers clear, balanced, and vitalized for optimal well-being. Each chakra is associated with a particular area of the body and a color of the spectrum. Stones are used at chakra centers for clearing, revitalizing, and healing. Generally, the selection of stones correspond with the associated color of the chakra.

Root Chakra


RED and BLACK govern the root chakra, situated at the base of the spine.


Purpose: This is the center of physical reality, and the basic survival traits and instincts are located here. By opening and balancing this chakra, we feel safe, secure, grounded, and trust in the abundance of life. When blocked, issues with safety, security, scarcity, or worry will arise. Discomfort may be felt in the lower intestines or colon. Your belief system that was integrated into your conscious and subconscious mind as you were growing up has an effect on the root chakra; whether you felt safe, loved, and nurtured in your childhood.

Related organs: colon, large intestines, sciatic nerves, coccyx, bones, and the vessels that move blood throughout the lower half of the body.

Related gland: testes/ovaries.

Stones Related to the Root Chakra: Red Jasper, Smokey Quartz, Bloodstone, Garnet, Hematite, Apache Tears, Black Obsidian, Black Tourmaline, Ruby


Sacral Chakra


ORANGE governs the sacral chakra, situated in the lower abdomen.


Purpose: This chakra governs our emotions, sexuality, and clairscentience (sensing what is going on around you and knowing others emotions by feeling them). It is the center of our joy. By opening and balancing this chakra, we can feel and process our own emotions and not take on others’ emotions, our sexual energy will be flowing in balance, and we will be in touch with our passions. We will begin to understand the limiting beliefs we have about ourselves. When blocked, our sexual energy will either be shut down or over active, we will take on others problems and emotions, and feel the need to control ourselves or others. The second chakra also houses our unhealed inner child. Consequently, life images and traumas are stored here.

Related organs: reproductive organs, kidneys, adrenal glands, bladder, appendix, and lower back.

Related glands: adrenals.

Stones Related to the Sacral Chakra: Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Moonstone, Topaz


Solar Plexus Chakra


YELLOW governs the solar plexus chakra, situated below the ribs.


Purpose: The third chakra is the center of chi, the life force energy. It governs how a person distributes and uses their energy and personal power. When this chakra is clear, energy flows smoothly and fully through the body and into whatever passion or project a person has. It encourages self-assurance and self-esteem. When blocked, one may feel small, fearful, and need approval. This chakra gives us energy, intuition, awareness, joy, wisdom, creativity and self empowerment.

Related organs: liver, spleen, stomach, pancreas, gall bladder, and small intestine. Governs the immune system.

Endocrine gland: pancreas.

Stones Related to the Solar Plexus: Citrine, Yellow Jasper, Tigers Eye, Sunstone, Pyrite, Topaz, Amber


Heart Chakra


GREEN and PINK govern the heart chakra.


Purpose: This chakra is the center of unconditional love located between body and spirit. It teaches us acceptance, forgiveness, empathy, trust, love, compassion within ourselves and others. This chakra allows us to be at peace. When clear, we have love for ourselves, others, and all living things, projects, and passions. If blocked, we have difficulty giving or receiving love.

Related organs: heart , lungs, thymus gland, rib cage, breasts, circulation of blood and lymph fluids, hands, forearems, and upper back.

Endocrine gland: thymus gland

Stones Related to the Heart Chakra: Rose Quartz, Rhodochrosite, Rhodonite, Kunzite, Amazonite, Turquoise, Moss Agate, Jade, Green Flourite, Aventurine, Green Calcite, Prehnite, Serpentine,Chrysocolla


Throat Chakra


BLUE governs the throat chakra.


Purpose: The throat chakra is the first of the higher chakra centers and is associated with communication, self-expression, speaking your truth and creativity. This allows us to communicate from spirit to body, communicate with others, communicate by hearing our inner voice, and express creativity. By opening and balancing this chakra, we acquire the ability to truthfully communicate our thoughts and emotions. When blocked, we find it difficult to speak our truth, communicate clearly, or be honest with ourselves.

Related organs: throat, mouth, teeth, gums, tongue, tonsils, thyroid gland, cervical vertebra, voice box, esophagus, elbows, forearms, and shoulders.

Endocrine gland: thyroid gland.

Stones Related to the Throat Chakra: Turquoise, Chrysocolla, Aquamarine, Blue Lace Agate,Chalcedony, Kyanite, Angelite, Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Larimar, Azurite


Third Eye Chakra


INDIGO governs the brow chakra or third eye, in the center of the forehead.


Purpose: Inner wisdom. The third eye chakra governs the areas of intuition, intelligence, inspiration, clairvoyance, precognition, and visions. It allows us to see the action of ideas, have insight into issues, mind development and understanding. It also helps us to keep an open mind and to tell the truth from a lie. When blocked, we find it difficult to see what is real and true, and can be blinded by judgements. We can find ourselves having fear of the truth, discipline, judgement, and evaluation.

Related organs: eyes, nose, ears, brain, hypothalamus, and pituitary gland.

Related gland: pituitary.

Stones Related to the Third Eye Chakra: Sodalite, Azurite, Iolite, Blue Tiger’s Eye, Amethyst, Purple Flourite, Lepidolite, Labradorite


Crown Chakra

VIOLET, WHITE, and GOLD govern the crown chakra, at the top of the head.


Related organ: skin, peripheral nervous system.

Purpose: The crown chakra allows for Divine wisdom, unity and oneness with the Universe, enlightenment, deep understanding, trust, selflessness, humanitarianism, and the ability to see the bigger picture in a spiritual life. When open it allows us to access our highest truth and find inner peace. We are able to individuate, becoming aware that we are an extraordinary, irreplaceable part of spirit, learning to shine our unique light into the world. When blocked, we can feel confused, experience a lack of faith, and be programmed with beliefs that are not true for us.

Endocrine gland: pineal gland.

Stones Related to the Crown Chakra: Clear Quartz, Clear Calcite, Amethyst, Labradorite, Flourite, Selenite, Kunzite

Seven Major Chakras and Their Functions

© 2023 by B since 1985. All rights reserved.